Guides.loc.gov Find lawyers, law library

Research Guides: Federal Statutes: A Beginner’s Guide

Details: Currently, this compilation of all the “general and permanent laws” of the United States is the United States Code. 2 The United States Code organizes statutes by subject, and each subject is assigned its own title. For example, Title 51 concerns National and Commercial Space Programs. Titles are then “ subdivided into a combination of

› Verified 8 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/federal-statutes/united-states-code Go Now

• Get more: Library congress databaseGo Now

Research Guides: American Women: Resources from the …

Details: The laws and resulting court cases that involved slavery and indentured servants have had a major impact on America, its men and women alike, in both the past and the present. Through the years, the laws that the states passed became steadily more restrictive …

› Verified 2 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/american-women-law/state-laws Go Now

• Get more: Library of congress online researchGo Now

How to Trace Federal Legislation

Details: For public laws passed before 1951, you can visit our A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation site (1789-1875, in TIFF format) or our Law.gov Statutes at Large site (1789-1950, in PDF format). Finally, to find public laws passed from 1951 to the present, we suggest using the govinfo website.

› Verified 8 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/legislative-history/trace-federal-legislation Go Now

• Get more: Electronic database libraryGo Now

Locating Federal Statutes

Details: Full-text slip laws available for public laws from 1995-present. It also provides limited information for private laws from 1973-present. Search in the following format if using public law: use the citation format "PL___-___" (for example, "PL115-45") and select “All Legislation” if the public law was enacted prior to the current Congress

› Verified 7 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/federal-statutes/locating-statutes Go Now

• Get more: Library of congress research guidesGo Now

Statutes and Regulations

Details: Most of the laws on the incorporation and maintenance of nonprofit organizations are dictated by state corporation law. For more information about state laws and where to find them online, visit the Law Library’s Guide to Law Online.To find your state’s statutes, select your state from the Guide to Law Online page, and scroll down to the “Legislative” section.

› Verified 7 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/nonprofit-organizations/statutes-regulations Go Now

• Get more: Research guide of jehovah's witnessesGo Now

Types of Law and Jurisdiction

Details: Statutory law can be found in two types of publications: compilations of statutes or codified laws. 7 Both the compilations and the codes have the same wording, but their formats are different. A federal law is given the number of the U.S. Congress that passed it and a second number that represents the chronological order of its passage.

› Verified 4 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/american-women-law/types-of-law Go Now

• Get more: Library of congress researchGo Now

Code of Federal Regulations

Details: The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is a continually revised arrangement of all general and permanent federal rules by subject. It is organized into 50 titles, and each title contains rules in a general subject area. For example, agricultural rules are in Title 7. The CFR has been printed since 1938 and it is updated annually.

› Verified 9 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/administrative-law/code-of-federal-regulations Go Now

• Get more: Library database onlineGo Now

Federal Law Materials

Details: The immigration laws enacted from 1875 to 1910, in conjunction with the prevailing opinion that the European countries were encouraging their paupers and undesirables to emigrate, assumed that single women would become wards of the state or turn to prostitution in order to make a living 84 Even though these laws were passed during the late

› Verified 4 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/american-women-law/federal-laws Go Now

› Get more:  LawGo Now

SEC Laws & Filings

Details: The Securities Lawyer's Deskbook is maintained by the University of Cincinnati College of Law, provides full text of many of the above laws, along with rules and regulations promulgated under each act, selected forms prescribed under the Securities Act of 1933, and regulations setting Standards of Professional Conduct for Attorneys.

› Verified 9 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/mergers-acquisitions-joint-ventures/sec-laws-and-filings Go Now

› Get more:  LawyerGo Now

Research Guides: Louisiana Purchase: A Legislative

Details: The House of Representatives receives “a memorial from the inhabitants of Louisiana, said to be signed by 2,000 heads of families, which takes a view of the laws of the United States, for their Territorial government.”

› Verified 2 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/louisiana-purchase-legislative-timeline/1804-1805 Go Now

› Get more:  LawGo Now

1986: Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986

Details: Marion S. Trikosko, photographer Aliens, immigration & naturalization [raids, Illinois] 1977. Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division. Congress enacted the Immigration Reform and Control Act (also known as the Simpson-Mazzoli Act or the Reagan Amnesty) and President Ronald Reagan signed it into law in November 1986.

› Verified 7 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/latinx-civil-rights/irca Go Now

› Get more:  LawGo Now

Guide to Law Online: U.S. States and Territories

Details: Use our online form to ask a librarian for help. Chat with a librarian, Monday through Friday, 12-4pm Eastern Time (except Federal Holidays).

› Verified 8 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/us-states-territories?loclr=bloglaw Go Now

› Get more:  LawyerGo Now

Research Guides: Legal Research: A Guide to Secondary

Details: Secondary resources in the field of law offer analysis, commentary, or a restatement of primary law and are used to help locate and explain primary sources of law. This guide provides an overview of these materials aimed at the beginning legal researcher.

› Verified 6 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/law-secondary-resources/legal-encyclopedias Go Now

› Get more:  LawGo Now

Federalist Nos. 61-70

Details: The alarming indifference discoverable in the exercise of so invaluable a privilege under the existing laws, which afford every facility to it, furnishes a ready answer to this question. And, abstracted from any experience on the subject, we can be at no loss to determine, that when the place of election is at an INCONVENIENT DISTANCE from the

› Verified 1 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/federalist-papers/text-61-70 Go Now

› Get more:  LawGo Now

International Custom

Details: Yearbooks provide a survey of practice in international law. Yearbooks can be regional, such as the African Yearbook of International Law, or can be specific to one nation, like the Canadian Yearbook of International Law.Yearbooks are helpful research tools for international law research, but are especially helpful in determining custom.

› Verified 9 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/public-international-law/international-customs Go Now

› Get more:  LawGo Now

Research Guides: LGBTQ+ Legal Resources: A Beginner’s

Details: This page contains information about laws regarding "Marriage, Domestic Partnerships, and Civil Unions," "Same-Sex Divorce," and other "Questions on Lesbian & Gay Couples."; National Center for Lesbian Rights - Family and Relationships Resources External

› Verified 9 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/lgbtq-law/online-resources Go Now

› Get more:  LawGo Now

Legislative Journals By State

Details: The following state legislative journals from the Library's general collections are organized below by state. Some volumes may be incomplete. The links from each title provide fuller bibliographic information from the Library of Congress Online Catalog as well as detailed lists of issues and volumes. Links to electronic versions are provided when available.

› Verified 8 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/state-legislative-journals/by-state Go Now

› Get more:  LawyerGo Now

Docket Information

Details: Regulatory Histories for Public Laws enacted from 1935-current and Executive Orders for 1936-current..li> If you are not able to find the docket folder for your regulation of interest using the resources above, your next step will likely be to contact the federal agency or sub-agency that promulgated the regulation.

› Verified 7 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/trace-federal-regulations/docket-information Go Now

› Get more:  LawGo Now

U.S. Trade Disputes with China

Details: This book examines the state of China's trade agreements with various regions of the world and the strategy and rationale behind them. In its campaign to sign free trade agreements, China is slowly moving from small, developing countries to more advanced economies.

› Verified 5 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/us-trade-with-china/general-trade/disputes Go Now

› Get more:  LawyerGo Now

Prohibition Begins

Details: There are appendix sections for outline of organization, classification of activities, publications, laws, a bibliography. Last Call by Daniel Okrent. Call Number: HV5089 .O47 2010. ISBN: 9780743277020. Published/Created: 2010-05-11. This is a general history on Prohibition and its demise. It begins with the Temperance Movement and moves to

› Verified 3 days ago

› Url: https://guides.loc.gov/this-month-in-business-history/january/prohibition Go Now

› Get more:  LawGo Now